New 7 Wonders of the World: UNESCO unhappy with selections

Machu Picchu. Photo by Max Frause, May 2007.
The New7Wonders organization has announced its New 7 Wonders of the WorldThis was the first ever global election, with 100 million people voting by Internet or telephone. The top seven include:

  • The Great Wall of China
  • Taj Mahal - India
  • Machu Picchu - Peru
  • Statue of Christ Redeemer - Brazil
  • Colosseum - Rome
  • Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza - Mexico
  • Petra - Jordan
But everybody is not happy with the list. UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) slammed the selections, as reported today on out of Sydney, Australia.

Popular Posts