Saturday, November 07, 2015

Michael Buble, Don Cherry and Ron MacLean among six inducted into Canada's Walk of Fame 2015

Michael Buble, Musician

Don Cherry and Don MacLean, Hockey Broadcasters
Coach's Corner

Loren Green, Actor
Cineplex Legends Inductee

Silken Laumen, Athlete
Wendy Crewson, Actor

Lawrence Hill, Author
Canada's Walk of Fame 2015 takes place Saturday, November 7 at Toronto's Sony Centre. The event will honor this year's Canada's Walk of Fame Inductees (above) and the Allan Slaight Honour recipient, Shawn Mendes. Presenters for this year's Inductees are:

Trevor Linden for Michael Buble
Rex Murphy for Don Cherry and Ron MacLean
Richard Hatch for Lorne Green
Johann Koss for Silken Laumann
Brian Topp for Wendy Crewson
Molly Johnson for Lawrence Hill

Shawn Mendes, the 17-year-old singer/songwriter and multi-platinum recording artist, will perform on stage at the event. Also on the program is four-time JUNO Award winner Johnny Reid, performing music from his upcoming album (What Love is All About), to be released November 13, 2015. The ceremony, hosted by Jason Priestley, will be filmed for national broadcast on Global and is scheduled to air on Thursday, December 17 at 8PM ET/PT.
Canada's Walk of Fame acknowledges the achievements and accomplishments of successful Canadians in the fields of music, science, literature, sports, film and social justice. A series of maple leaf-like stars is imbedded along 13 designated blocks in Toronto, located in front of Roy Thomson Hall, The Princess of Wales Theatre, The Royal Alexandra Theatre on King Street and Simcoe Street. The first group was inducted in 1998. To date, 161 Canadians have been honored.

Burrowing Owl Estate Winery earns Canadian Wine Industry Award of Distinction

Burrowing Owl Estate Winery in Oliver, British Columbia British Columbia's Burrowing Owl Estate Winery was awarded top honors at the 20...